DEATH ROW FOUNDER MAD AFTER ASSETS SOLD

January 22, 2009


*Master recordings of Tupac Shakur, Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre were part of the assets of Death Row Records that were sold for $18 million recently to the Canadian development company WIDEawake Entertainment Group.

The selling price was less than expected so a lot of the creditors who are owed money by Death Row will walk away with nothing. One of those creditors is Lydia Harris, who helped Suge Knight start Death Row back in the day.

Harris sued Suge and got a $107 million judgment in 2005. That judgment is one of the reasons Death Row filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection.

Lydia Harris expressed her outrage when she told Billboard:

“This was all a scam from the beginning. Everyone wanted me to bring judgment down, and so I brought on the case. But now I’m not getting paid because I’m an unsecured creditor? Yet, administrators are getting paid and Suge’s bills are still getting paid? If it wasn’t for me no one would be getting money. They made sure it happened this way because I was the biggest creditor. There must be some internal thing going on and I’m obviously not in on it.”

Leave a comment